” When my blood runs warm with the old red wine, I miss the life that I left behind.

And when I hear the sound of the blackbird’s cry, I know I left in the nick of time.

Well this road I’m on’s gonna turn to sand, and leave me lost in a far-off land.

So let me ride the wind ’till I don’t look back, and forget the life that I almost had.

If I wander until I die, may I know whose hand I’m in.

If my home I never find, then let me live again.

The longer I run, the less that I find.

Sellin’ my soul for a nickel and dime.

Breakin’ my heart to keep singin’ these rhymes, I’m losing again.

Tell my brother, please, not to look for me.

I ain’t the man that I used to be.

But if my savior comes could you let him know; I’ve gone away for to save my soul.

If I wander ’till I die, may I know whose hand I’m in.

If my home I never find, then let me live again.

The longer I run the less that I find.

Sellin’ my soul for a nickel and dime.

Breakin’ my heart to keep singin’ these rhymes.

I’m losing again.”     The Longer I Run, Peter Bradley Adams

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

