Trains

Sometime in the cold dark hours of “nobody should be awake” last night, I suddenly woke up from my dream trying to figure out why I was “Reloconnecting” with someone.

Confused? Yeah me too.

And as I am staring at my wall thinking of my strange dreams, I hear a human body trip and slide down the stairs to my apartment. (Or that’s what I thought.)

I get up to check and find this:

Hmm… I’ll figure out what to do with that later. In the meantime I crawled back in the warmth of my three blankets and tried to sleep.

This rude interruption got me to thinking.

What is the most comforting sound in the entire world?

………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………..

That’s right, the whistle of a train in the middle of a cold night from the warmth and safety of your own bed.  (Bonus points if snow happens to be falling.)

Comforting sounds make me think about what I value most and what I want to spend my time doing.

I want to travel.

I want to offer comfort to children.

I want to make sure the boys know that I can be bigger and badder than they can.

So I have decided to be a train conductor.

Benefits are GREAT and I get to travel.

What’s not to love about that?

Don’t believe me? Well I’m serious.

Yeah, that's my application to Union Pacific

F*** Yeah!!!!  I’m gonna drive trains.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Trains

  1. Nanci Ricks says:

    I’m so proud of you…No matter what you do or where you go…it will be great because you are doing it.

  2. Baba Bad-Ass Ji says:

    ~~ i too love the sound of a train rollin down the tracks to destinations unknown… rumbleracka rumbleracka rumbleracka rumbleracka… whah hwwauhhh WHAHHHHH… rumbleracka rumbleracka.
    ~~ a “while” back me and the boys jumped a slow moving train (do not try this at home – wait – or anywhwere). twas dark and we didnt realize til the last minute that it was a Ringling Brothers circus train. we aborted the mission quickly, besides we were scaring the crap out of ourselves at the entire notion anyway.
    ~~ comforting children will surely afford endless job opportunities. a child comforting train pilot will always be in high demand. period. “oh, what do YOU do?” “Well, I’m a child comforting train pilot”
    ~~ rock on my big badass buddy… bababadassji

    • Hannah Ricks says:

      First, AWESOME username.
      Second, train hopping certainly sounds equally fun. Perhaps I shall take this up prior to submitting my application, just to be sure I know what it is like riding trains across the country.
      haha.

      • Baba Bad-Ass Ji says:

        Hannah jan ~ If you tell your mom the idea came from me, I’ll deny it. No wait – this is the web – dang. Nanci, I was just a dumb kid, not a wise, grown-up, safety minded adult like Hannah.

Leave a Reply

